About The Marathon

“If you want to win something, run 100 meters, if you want to experience something, run a marathon” – Emil Zatopek

The Indiabulls Home loans Vasai-Virar Mayor’s Marathon (IBVVMM) started as a state level event in 2011. With hot breakfast, scenic beauty of Vasai-Virar and strategically placed cheering zones, IBVVMM offers one of the best-running experiences in India.

Conceptualized by Aryanz Sports PR and Events for the Vasai-Virar City Municipal Corporation, IBVVMM came under the aegis of the Athletic Federation of India (AFI) in 2012.

IBVVMM has four categories: Full Marathon (42.195km), Half Marathon (21.097km), 11km Open Run and Dhamaal Dhav (4km).

In its first edition, IBVVMM started with 700 participants and currently has 15,000 runners running across various categories. The marathon offers prize money of Rs 35 Lacs. There is a separate prize money fund for participants from the Vasai-Virar Taluka region.

Race Categories

Full Marathon, Half Marathon, 11K Run, Dhamaal Dhaav

Click Here

Prize Money Structure

All prize money winnings are subject to Prize Money Rules given herein.

Click Here

The race attracts some of India’s finest athletes with names like G Lakshmanan, Lyngkhoi Bining, Elam, Singh, Deep Chand, Sanvroo Yadav, Shoji Mathew, Kavita Raut, Sudha Singh, Monika Athare who have participated in the past.

The marathon has witnessed personalities from different industries; from sporting legends like Sachin Tendulkar , Anju Bobby George, P T Usha, Shiny Wilson, wrestlers Sushil Kumar & Yogeshwar Dutt to Bollywood Celebrities like Riteish Deshmukh, Mahima Choudhary have graced the event with their presence. The first four years has seen Actor, Model, and Running Enthusiast Milind Soman as the ‘Face of the Event’.

The marathon aims to identify deserving athletes and support them for a period of five years.